DUI

DUI

The attorneys at Martin Foldie Law are highly experienced in handling drinking and driving offenses and are committed to providing you all the protections afforded under the law.

Michigan DUI Laws

Michigan has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under 21 who have been pulled over for driving while intoxicated. Drivers who are above the age of 21 must have a blood alcohol content of over .08% in order to be arrested for a DUI. If a person is a commercial driver over the age of 21 and has a blood alcohol content of over .04%, they can be arrested for drunk driving.  
  • First Offense: License suspension of up to six months; fines ranging from $100 to $500; and possible jail time of up to 93 days. 
  • Second Offense: License suspension of at least 1 year; fines ranging from $200 to $1,000; and possible jail time ranging from five days to one year or 90 days of community service. 
  • Third Offense: License suspension of at least one year; fines ranging from $200 to $1,000; and possible jail time ranging from 30 days to five years. 
Anti-Drunk and Drugged Driving Laws 
In Michigan, drug and alcohol sentences must be carried out swiftly. In order to protect yourself, call a lawyer to help you in your legal battle. Below are a list of Michigan law requirements. 
  • 77 days after an arrest a verdict must be decided upon by a court.  
  • A $125 fee is applied if a license has been suspended, revoked, or restricted. 
  • Court-ordered participation in rehabilitation 

 

Know Your Rights

In Michigan, every driver is considered to have given implied consent to a chemical alcohol testing. This testing consists of blood, breath, or urine testing and is not the same thing as a preliminary field test. If you are pulled over and do not agree to take this test, your official license will be destroyed and you will receive a temporary paper one until the DUI case is settled. However, there are more ways to protect your rights if you are pulled over for drunk driving.  
  • You are not required to take a field sobriety test  
  • You do not have to admit that you have consumed alcohol  
  • You can request to have the stop recorded  

In addition, it is crucial that you exercise your 5th amendment right to remain silent. This will help ensure that there is no further incriminating evidence against you. In addition, be sure to contact an attorney as soon as possible. Not only will they be better able to protect you, but this will delay any questioning that may occur. 

Experienced

Dedicated

Honest

Bay City Office

Lansing Office