Fraud

Fraud

Fraud charges are stressful, complex, and vary drastically depending upon the circumstances. Don’t tackle it alone. Let Martin Foldie Law’s dedicated team work to protect your interests and get the outcome you deserve.  

Michigan Fraud Laws

In order to be accused of fraud in Michigan, several qualifications must be true. Even if one of these qualifications does not apply, there can be no successful fraud case.  
  • The accused knows that the statement they have made is false.  
  • The accused knows that their statement will be relied upon. 
  • The accused knows that the affected individual does not know that the statement is false.  
  • The false statement negatively affects the other individual.  
If these qualifications all exist, then a fraud charge can be applied. There are several different types of fraud charges and all depend upon the situation. In each case, the judge will consider issuing a restitution which would require the defendant to pay back the victim for all of the amount that was originally lost to fraud.  

 

Saying or Publishing Fraudulent Financial Records 

This charge is considered a felony with jail time ranging up to 14 years. Examples of this crime include:   
  • Using a false credit or debit card 
  • Opening a card with a false name 
  • Using a forged deed or financial record 

Forging Bank Notes 

This charge is typically applied when an individual either uses or possesses false checks and posses an intent to commit fraud. This is considered a felony and includes prison time ranging up to 7 years.

Possessing Forged Bank Notes 

If you posses 10 or more forged bank documents with an intent to use them to commit fraud, you can be charged with a felony and receive up to 7 years of jail time.  

Using Counterfeit Money 

Using counterfeit money is classified as a felony with possible jail time of 5 years and a fine of $2,500. 

Using Fraud to Obtain a Signature 

If you obtain a signature by fraudulent means, you have committed a felony and could receive up to 10 years in jail and a fine of $5,000. If you use the signature to benefit yourself, you can be charged with an additional felony, receiving another 10 years of jail time and an addition fine of up to $5,000. 

Fraudulent Handling of Personal Property 

If you are entrusted with personal property and use it to benefit yourself, you may be faced with a felony charge. The exact sentence for this offense varies depending upon your criminal history, the circumstances around the charge, and any additional factors that play a role. Expect to receive a minimum sentence of 1 year jail time. 

Experienced

Dedicated

Honest

Bay City Office

Lansing Office